Farming the Uncanny Valley

Within the project Farming the Uncanny Valley, feelings of uneasiness towards emerging societal changes in the context of current biotechnological developments are investigated. This research is intended to function as a starting point for initiating an open discourse and exploring new ways of involving a broader public into a process of co-creation.

Technological change is leading to shifts in our values and perceptions. Relevant topics and questions that are characteristic for this are identified in a close dialogue between designers and leading researchers in the field. Through these questions, possible shifts in our values and concepts as a result of technological change are formulated. The possible shift is to be experienced through installations that address the psychological tilting moment and serve as a starting point for a discourse and the development of tools that enable laypeople to articulate desirable life with these technologies.

The methods and tools will be developed and tested in a series of workshops with selected target groups in the course of 2019, and then made accessible to a broad public in a final exhibition. The three-years research project is running from 2018-2020 and funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Farming the Uncanny Valley

Im Projekt Farming the Uncanny Valley (dt. Urbarmachung des Unheimlichen Tals) untersuchen wir Gefühle des Unbehagens, die sich im Kontext von biotechnologischen Entwicklungen in der Gesellschaft abzeichnen. Wir nutzen diese Untersuchung als Ausgangspunkt für einen öffentlichen Diskurs sowie um neue Möglichkeiten zur gemeinsamen Mitgestaltung zu entwickeln und zu erproben.

Im Dialog zwischen Gestaltern und Forschern, die die Entwicklung von Biotechnologie vorantreiben, identifizieren wir Themenfelder und formulieren Fragestellungen, die eine durch den technologischen Wandel mögliche Verschiebung unserer Werte und Begriffsvorstellungen zum Ausdruck bringen. Diese mögliche Verschiebung machen wir durch exemplarische Gegenstände und Situationen erfahrbar, um somit Laien zu ermöglichen mit zu diskutieren und zu artikulieren, wie ein wünschenswertes Leben mit diesen Technologien aussehen könnte.

Die Methoden und Werkzeuge werden im Verlauf des Jahres 2019 in einer Reihe von Workshops mit ausgewählten Zielgruppen entwickelt und getestet und im Anschluss im Rahmen einer Ausstellung einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Das dreijährige Forschungsprojekt läuft von 2018-2020 und wird gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.